Botanic Gardens Trust, Sydney, Australia

Representation on external committees 2008-2009

Doug Benson

  • Member, North Head Sanctuary Scientific Committee (Sydney Harbour Federation Trust)
  • Member, National Trust Bush Management Advisory Committee
  • Member, Greater Blue Mountains World Heritage Area Advisory Committee
  • Member, Stakeholder Working Groupfor Sydney Harbour National Park Plan of Management Review 2009

John Benson

  • Member, NSW DECC Vegetation Mapping and Classification Type Committee
  • Member of IUCN Commission of Ecosystem Management
  • Member of Wollemi Pine Recovery Team
  • participant in IUCN Ad Hoc Committee on Ecosystem Risk Assessment
  • Member of DECC NSW Biodiversity Strategy Priorities Committee

Dr Barbara Briggs (Honorary Research Associate)

  • Committee Member, NSW Division of Australian & New Zealand Association for the Advancement of Science (ANZAAS)

Dr Elizabeth Brown

  • Adjunct Lecturer, University of New England

Professor Carrick Chambers (Honorary Research Associate)

  • Member Griffin Reserves Advisory Committee for Willoughby City Council
  • Patron, Walter Burley Griffin Society Inc.
  • Member, Florilegium Committee Royal Botanic Gardens Trust, Sydney

Dr Barry Conn

  • Project Leader Pacific Region, of the European Union-sponsored African-Caribbean-Pacific (ACP-EU) Forest Network (FORENET) Program
  • Member of the Scientific Advisory Group for the ACP-EU project
  • Coordinator, Flora Malesiana Urticaceae Working Group
  • Member, Editorial Committee,Telopea

Dr Tim Entwisle

  • Chair, NSW Biodiversity Research Network
  • Deputy Chair, Australian Academy of Science National Committee for Plant and Animal Sciences
  • Member, NSW Agricultural Scientific Collections Trust
  • Chair, Scientific Program Coordinator, International Botanical Congress 2011
  • Member, International Advisory Committee for Botanic Gardens Conservation International
  • Deputy Chair, Blue Mountains World Heritage Institute
  • Member, Macarthur Advisory Board (MACROC)
  • Member, Hyde Park Master Plan Reference Committee
  • Member, Taxonomy Research & Information Network Steering Committee

Dr Edward Liew

  • Adjunct Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources, The University of Sydney
  • Member, Wollemi Pine Conservation Management (Recovery) Team
  • Member, Phytophthora cinnamomi Threat Abatement Plan Working Group
  • Assessor, National Association of Testing Authorities (NATA)

Bob Makinson

  • Member, NSW [Threatened Species] Scientific Committee
  • President, Australian Network for Plant Conservation Inc.
  • Member, Species Recovery Team for Grevillea wilkinsonii
  • Member, Goobarragandra Valley Reserves Trust (Crown Lands Trust under Dept of Lands)
  • Member, Wollemi Pine Conservation Management (Recovery) Team
  • Botanic Gardens Trust co-representative to DECCW Biodiversity Conservation Managers Group

Dr Adam Marchant

  • President of the Workers’ Educational Association (Sydney)
  • Member of the Genetics Society of AustralAsia

Dr Amelia Martyn

  • Member, Australian Society of Plant Scientists
  • Member, Women In Science Enquiry Network Program

Dr Peter Michael (Honorary Research Associate)

  • Member, National Trust Bush Management Committee

Dr Alan Millar

  • Editor-in-chief, Journal of the International Phycological Society - Phycologia
  • Deputy Chair, NSW Fisheries Scientific Committee, Fisheries Management Act
  • Adjunct Professor of University of New South Wales, University of Melbourne and James Cook University
  • Professorial Research Fellow, University of Wollongong
  • Chair - Research Advisory Group, Sapphire Coast Marine Discovery Centre
  • Member, International Organising Committee, International Phycological Congresses
  • Member, Nominations Committee, International Phycological Society
  • Member - International Marine Experts Group
  • Algal Consultant for International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN)
  • Consultant for Conservation International, Washington DC
  • Chair, Research Advisory Group, Sapphire Coast Marine Discovery Centre

Dr Cathy Offord

  • Scientific Committee (Floriculture and Climate Change) International Horticulture Congress, 2010
  • Wollemi Pine Conservation Management Committee, member.

Dr Maurizio Rossetto

  • Member, IUCN/SSC Reintroduction Specialist Group
  • Adjunct Assoc. Professor, University of New England
  • Member, Fontainea oraria Recovery Team
  • Member, Elaeocarpus williamsianus Recovery Team
  • Member, Genetic Society of Australia; Member, The Society for Conservation Biology.

Dr Brett Summerell

  • Chair, Council of Heads of Australian Herbaria (till 30 December 2008)
  • Member Executive Committee, Council of Heads of Australian Herbaria (since January 1, 2009)
  • Chair, Herbarium Information Systems Committee (since January 1, 2009)
  • Convenor, Taxonomy Australia
  • Member, Australian Museum, Research and Curation Advisory Committee
  • Member, Australian Biological Resources Study Advisory Committee
  • Member, Management Committee, Atlas of Living Australia
  • Adjunct Professor, Faculty of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources, University of Sydney
  • Adjunct Professor, Department of Plant Pathology, Kansas State University.

John Thomson (Honorary Research Associate)

  • Professor Emeritus, University of Sydney
  • Council Member, International Association of Pteridologists
  • Committee Member, International Bracken Group

Dr Peter Weston

  • Member, Editorial Advisory Board, Kew Bulletin
  • Corresponding Member, Editorial Advisory Committee, Australian Systematic Botany
  • Vice President, Australian Systematic Botany Society
  • Chairman, Bushland Management Advisory Committee of Lane Cove Municipal Council
  • Chairman, Ira Butler Trophy Committee (a joint committee of the Orchid Society of New South Wales and the Australasian Native Orchid Society)
  • Adjunct Assoc. Professor, University of New England

Karen Wilson

  • Member of Australian Academy of Science National Committee for Data in Science
  • Secretary General for International Botanical Congress 2011
  • Convener, Global Plant Checklist Committee, International Organization for Plant Information
  • Member of IOPI Species Plantarum Committee
  • Adjunct Assoc. Professor, University of New England
  • Council member and member of Joyce W. Vickery Research Fund Committee, Linnean Society of New South Wales
  • Member of Board and Team, Species 2000
  • Member, Species 2000 Asia-Oceania Committee
  • Member, Editorial Advisory committee, Australian Systematic Botany'

Dr Peter Wilson

  • Adjunct Senior Lecturer, University of New England
  • Member, Committee of the Heads of Australian Herbaria Australian Plant Census Working Group.