Botanic Gardens Trust, Sydney, Australia

About us

Trust, Trustees & Trust committees

The Royal Botanic Gardens & Domain Trust is a statutory body established by the Royal Botanic Gardens and Domain Trust Act 1980. The Act was amended in 1983 to increase the number of Trustees from five to seven, and in 1985 to vest additional land in the Trust. The legislation defines the powers, authorities, duties and functions of the Trust and vests certain land and property in the Trust. It also governs the Regulations relating to all three Gardens and the Domain.

Trust objectives

  • to maintain and improve Trust lands, the National Herbarium of New South Wales and the collections of living and preserved plant life owned by the Trust

  • to increase and disseminate knowledge about the plant life of Australia, and of New South Wales in particular

  • to encourage the public use and enjoyment of Trust lands by promoting and increasing the educational, historical, cultural and recreational value of these lands.


Mr Ken Boundy M.Agr. Sc., MBA, FAICD (Appointed Chair 1 July 2012; present term expires 30 June 2014)

Ken is a company director, business owner and executive coach with a keen interest in plants, conservation and biodiversity. He is Chairman of Regnan Governance, Research and Engagement and of Hydrasyst, a 'clean tech' water treatment business. Ken also sits on the boards of Horticulture Australia, Australian Bauxite and NetComm Wireless. In previous executive roles, Ken headed up Tourism Australia and held senior leadership roles in private sector businesses in the wine, food and building materials industries, after starting his career as a research agronomist - where he helped develop lupins as a grain crop. He is a part owner of Corinna Wilderness Experience, an ecotourism destination in the Tarkine region of north west Tasmania.

Other Trustees

Mr John Egan BA (Hons), MBA, FAIM, FAICD, FIMC (Appointed 18 March 2010; present term expires 25 June 2014)

John Egan is a career management consultant, with particular interests in the alignment of strategy with organisation structure, Board governance and remuneration matters. John served on the Federal Council of the Institute of Management Consultants for a number of years, including a term as President and was Chairman of the Advisory Board of the Faculty of Economics and Business at the University of Sydney that year, serving as Chairman from 2001 to 2010. John is an Adjunct Professor in the School of Business and is an Honorary Fellow of the University of Sydney. He is a Board member of the Foundation and Friends of the Botanic Gardens and has a particular interest in cool climate gardens (

Ms Diana Eilert BSc (Syd), MCom (UNSW)

Diana is a senior Non Executive Director who brings three main skills to Boards - extensive operational experience as a Group Executive/CEO running large businesses, a strength in strategy and, in recent years, significant work in digital business and models. She is appointed to the Boards of AMP Life, Queensland Urban Utilities (Queenslandís largest water retailer), digital real estate business 'onthehouse' (ASX:OTH) and Trustee for the Royal Botanic Gardens and Domain Trust. Previously she was a director of (ASX: REA), Chair of GIO Australia and director of other Suncorp subsidiaries. Dianaís significant P&L experience includes running Suncorpís entire insurance business and, in her 10 years with Citibank, running the mutual funds business, the mortgage business and Direct Bank. Diana developed her strategy and digital skills as a Principal with AT Kearney, as a Partner with IBM and, recently, as Head of Strategy & Corporate Development with News Ltd. Diana holds a BSc (Syd) in maths and chemistry, and MCom (UNSW) in Finance and Marketing and is a member of Chief Executive Women.

Sandra Hook  GAIDC (Appointed 7 November 2012; present term expires 6 November 2015)

Sandra is a company director and a marketing and media expert with a successful background running businesses across print, TV, magazines, digital and PR. The former CEO of NewsLifeMedia (News Limited), she was responsible for more than 20 leading consumer brands and oversaw the rapid growth of the divisionís digital operation. Prior to this Sandra held senior executive roles with Foxtel, Austar, Fairfax, ACP, and Murdoch Magazines. For eight years she was a board member of Horticulture Australia and consulted widely to the nursery industry. Sandra is a Trustee of the Sydney Harbour Federation Trust, a board director of the Sydney Fish Markets and advises companies seeking to take advantage of digital disruption. Sandra is Chair of the Royal Botanic Gardens & Domain Trust Public Engagement committee and is keenly focused on consumer trends and the power of consultation and collaboration.

Ms Sibylle Krieger LLB (Hons), LLM, FAICD, MBA (Appointed 1 June 2010; present term expires 31 May 2014)

Sibylle Krieger has 35 years of broad commercial experience as a lawyer, company director, economic regulator and independent consultant. She was a partner of two major commercial law firms for 22 years and held several management roles. She holds an MBA from Melbourne Business School. Sibylle has served as a Tribunal member of the Independent Pricing & Regulatory Tribunal for two terms and as a Trustee of Sydney Grammar School. Sibylle has held non-executive Board roles in Sydney Ports Corporation, Allconnex Water in Queensland and TasWater in Tasmania. Sibylle chairs the Trustís Finance, Audit and Risk Management Committee.

Mr Tom Pinzone BEng (UNSW), FIEAust, MICE, MAICD (Reappointed 18 March 2010; present term expires 25 April 2014)

Tom Pinzone is a consulting civil engineer with over 35 years professional experience. For the majority of his career he worked with GHD Pty Ltd and held a variety of senior technical, managerial and corporate positions including 6 years as a Director. Prior to his retirement he was GHDís Global Leader Transport. He was the co-author and leader of a widely quoted series of Australian Infrastructure Report Cards. He has a long history of service with professional and industry associations at executive and committee level including Engineers Australia, Consult Australia, Infrastructure Partnerships Australia and the Warren Centre and has served on a number of Government advisory groups. Tom chairs the Planning and Estate Management Committee and is a member of the Trustís Finance, Audit and Risk Management Committee.

Trust Committees

Finance, Audit and Risk Management Committee

Ms Sibylle Krieger (Chairperson), Mr Tom Pinzone, Ms Bronwyn Shead (Convenor) 

Public Engagement Committee

Ms Sandra Hook (Chairperson), Mr Ken Boundy, Ms Kate Faithorn (Convenor)

Federation maze Australian Botanic Garden

Blue Mountains Botanic Garden