Botanic Gardens Trust, Sydney, Australia

Education




Dandy Lions
Come and play in the Garden!

Dandy Lions is a delightful morning of gardening, craft, storytelling and play for young children and their carers. Each week we explore a new garden-related theme, with specially designed activities for children under the age of five. Join Royal Botanic Garden Sydney education staff for:

  • Garden activities including planting and harvesting
  • Nature-based art and craft
  • Lively, interactive storytelling
  • Songs, music and dance
  • Garden discovery walks
  • Playtime and fun!

Term 2, 2015

Dates and themes for Dandy Lions in Term 2:

Week 1    
Tuesday 21 April
Thursday23 April

Octopus’ Garden

Week 2 Tuesday 28 April
Thursday 30 April
Mother’s Day (Sun 10 May)
Week 3 Tuesday 5 May
Thursday 7 May
Compost and Wiggly Worms (Compost Awareness Week)
Week 4 Tuesday 12 May
Thursday 14 May
Camouflaged Critters
Week 5Tuesday 19 May
Thursday 21 May
Autumn Daze
Week 6 Tuesday 26 May
Thursday 28 May
Dandies Surprise
Week 7Tuesday 2 June
Thursday 4 June 
World Environment Day (5 June)
Week 8 Tuesday 9 June
Thursday 11 June
A Very Royal Dandy Lions (Queens Birthday Mon 8 June)
Week 9 Tuesday 16 June
Thursday 18 June

Musical Mayhem

Week 10Tuesday 23 June
Thursday 25 June
Nearly NAIDOC

When: 10.30 am - 12.00 noon
Where: Lawn next to Victoria Gate Lodge, Royal Botanic Garden, Sydney. Enter through Victoria Gate from Mrs Macquaries Road. Click here for map.
Cost: $165 per family for a 10 week term of Tuesdays or a term of Thursdays (max. 2 children). Casual places are also available each week $18 per family Tuesdays and Thursdays (max. 2 children, $6 per extra child). Foundation and Friends of the Botanic Gardens receive a 10% discount.
Bookings essential: We have limited casual spaces available each week. Bookings open from Monday of the week prior - phone 9231 8134. Bookings now open for Term 2.
Public transport: Take bus route 441 from the Queen Victoria Building (the first bus of the morning leaves from QVB at 10.08 am and arrives at Dandy Lions at 10.15 am). The closest train station is Circular Quay and it has pram access.
Parking: Metered parking is available along Mrs Macquaries Road
Further information: Community Education, phone: 9231 8134
Please note: We do not go ahead if there is heavy rain, thunderstorms or high winds, or if the temperature is above 35 degrees Celsius

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required
Kids at the Royal Botanic Garden Sydney

For more information, please contact community.programs@rbgsyd.nsw.gov.au.

 

Dandy-Lions

Dandy-Lions

Dandy-Lions

dandy-lions

children