Botanic Gardens Trust, Sydney, Australia

Education




Dandy Lions
Come and play in the Garden!

Dandy Lions is a delightful morning of gardening, craft, storytelling and play for young children and their carers. Each week we explore a new garden-related theme, with specially designed activities for children under the age of five. Join Royal Botanic Garden Sydney education staff for:

  • Garden activities including planting and harvesting
  • Nature-based art and craft
  • Lively, interactive storytelling
  • Songs, music and dance
  • Garden discovery walks
  • Playtime and fun!

Term 4, 2014

Dates and themes for Dandy Lions in Term 4:

Week 1    
Tuesday 7 October
Thursday 9 October
Bees Knees
Week 2 Tuesday 14 October
Thursday 16 October
Dandy Lions Birthday Party
Week 3 Tuesday 21 October
Thursday 23 October
Wonderful Water
Week 4 Tuesday 28 October
Thursday 30 October
Happy Halloween
Week 5 Tuesday 4 November
Thursday 6 November
Flutter-bys and Caterpillars
Week 6 Tuesday 11 November
Thursday 13 November
Aboriginal Plant Dance
Week 7 Tuesday 18 November
Thursday 20 November
Purple Haze - Jacaranda
Week 8 Tuesday 25 November
Thursday 27 November
Dinosaur Gardens
Week 9 Tuesday 2 December
Thursday 4 December
Mountain Magic
Week 10

Tuesday 9 December
Thursday 11 December  

A Very Leafy Christmas

When: 10.30 am - 12.00 noon
Where: Lawn next to Victoria Gate Lodge, Royal Botanic Garden, Sydney. Enter through Victoria Gate from Mrs Macquaries Road. Click here for map.
Cost: $135 per family for a term of Tuesdays or a term of Thursdays (max. 2 children, $50 per extra child). Casual places are also available each week $15 per family. Foundation and Friends of the Botanic Gardens receive a 10% discount.
Bookings essential: We have limited casual spaces available each week. Bookings open from Monday of the week prior - phone 9231 8134. Bookings Open for Term 4 on Monday 22 September at 9 am.
Public transport: Take bus route 441 from the Queen Victoria Building (the first bus of the morning leaves from QVB at 10.08 am and arrives at Dandy Lions at 10.15 am). The closest train station is Circular Quay and it has pram access.
Parking: Metered parking is available along Mrs Macquaries Road
Further information: Community Education, phone: 9231 8134
Please note: We do not go ahead if there is heavy rain, thunderstorms or high winds, or if the temperature is above 35 degrees Celsius

To join the Dandy Lions email list or for more information, please contact sophie.daniel@rbgsyd.nsw.gov.au  

Dandy-Lions

Dandy-Lions

Dandy-Lions

dandy-lions

children